Received awards of HART

From left to right: Dr. Ingrid Haynes, Department Chair, Curriculum and Instruction/College of Education; Tashana Frederick, winner of the Hubert Walling Endowed Scholarship, majoring in Interdisciplinary Studies; Lenatha Settles, winner of the Scholarship honoring Gary Tuma of Smart Financial Credit Union, majoring in Special Education; Gregory McCalope, winner of the Sallie, Louise and Hazelle McCarty Endowed Scholarship, majoring in Human Performance; Shaina Gray, winner of the Margaret Rose McLelland Endowed Scholarship, majoring in Kinesiology/Teaching; Bill Young, HART Scholarship Selection Committee member; Sarah Felder, winner of the Pauline Moss Crouch Endowed Scholarship, majoring in Music Education, Dr. Viveca Grant, TSU Department of Curriculum and Instruction; and Jane Eixmann, HART Scholarship Selection Committee Chair.

Each year Houston Area of Retired Teachers (HART) awards five $1000 scholarships to students planning a career in teaching. This past year’s winners were all students at Texas Southern University (TSU). Congratulations to each winner and we look forward to them joining the ranks of teachers/educators when they complete their degree.